New Fire Protection Industry (ODS & SGG) Board Appointed

Posted on : Friday, 9 December 2016

Fire Protection Association Australia (FPA Australia) was reappointed to continue to facilitate services for the Fire Protection Industry (ODS & SGG) Board (the Board) through a service agreement with the Australian Government Department of the Environment and Energy until 31 October 2018.

FPA Australia recently advertised and called for expressions of interest for individuals wishing to serve on the Board. 

The Board is responsible for providing services required by the Fire Protection Industry permit scheme (FPI Scheme) consistent with the Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas Management Regulations 1995, which includes the granting of fire protection industry permits to individuals and businesses. The Board also acts as a conduit and works closely with the fire protection industry and the Department of Environment and Energy.

The new nine member Fire Protection Industry (ODS & SGG) Board has been confirmed with three new members. Chris Orr is to remain Board Chairman.

 Mr Orr said the new Board was reinvigorated, experienced and knowledgeable with the necessary skills to deliver the Fire Protection Industry Permit Scheme (FPI Scheme) while reducing the emissions of ozone depleting substances (ODS) and synthetic greenhouse gases (SGG) used in the fire protection industry.

Chris Orr (Chair and FPA Australia)


Scott Williams (FPA Australia) 


Barry Lee


Brett Staines


Ray Walton


Garry Kwok


Daniel Wilson


Bob Grieve


Elvira Nigido


'i am delighted to welcome our new members to the Board,  congratulate those who were reappointed and I and look forward to continuing this important work,' Mr  Orr said.

 As part of its Strategic Plan, the Fire Protection Industry (ODS & SGG) Board will be rebranding itself including the changing of email addresses and launching a new website at in early 2017. 

 Starting immediately, all general email queries can be sent to

Specific staff member contact changes are as follows:

 Mark Potter, Executive Officer -

Peter Najibi, Team Leader Compliance -

Blenda Palmer, Licensing Coordinator -

Jennifer McLean, Licensing Coordinator -

Ann Harris, Licensing Coordinator -


Return to News & Media