Extinguishing Agent Handling Licences

In Australia, controls for ozone depleting substances (ODS) and synthetic greenhouse gases (SGG) are achieved under the Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas Management Act 1989  (the Act) and the Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas Management Regulations (the Regulations).

The Act and Regulations control the acquisition, possession, disposal and handling of controlled extinguishing agents for the fire protection industry in Australia. These controls apply to any ODS or SGG extinguishing agents scheduled under the Act, including but not limited to:

Commonly used scheduled extinguishing agents: 

  • FM-200, Heptafluoropropane (HFC-227ea)
  • Halon1211, Bromochlorodifluoromethane (BCF) 
  • Halon 1301, Bromotrifluoromethane (BTM)
  • NAF-SIII and NAF-PIII, Hydrochlorofluorocarbon (HCFC Blend A and HCFC Blend C)

 Less commonly used scheduled extinguishing agents

  • CFC-11, Tichlorofluoromethane (CFC-11)
  • FE-13, Trifluromethane (HFC-23)
  • FE-25, Pentafluoroethane (HFC-125)
  • FE-36, Hexafluoropropane (HFC-236fa)
  • FE-241, Cholorotetrafluoroethane (HCFC-124)
  • Perfluorobutane (PFC-410)

Handling ODS/SGG extinguishing agents

Individuals who handle a controlled extinguishing agent that is, has been, or is used for fire protection must hold an Extinguishing Agent Handling Licence (EAHL) or a Special Circumstances Exemption.

Handling a scheduled extinguishing agent means undertaking any task for which there is risk of emission of the scheduled agent. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Decanting the agent.
  • Installing or maintaining fire protection equipment that contains a scheduled extinguishing agent (i.e. gaseous fire suppression systems and portable fire extinguishers).
  • Decommissioning or disposing of fire protection equipment that contains a scheduled extinguishing agent.

Key types of Extinguishing Agent Handling Licences

The Fire Protection Industry (ODS&SGG) Board grants three key types of EAHL licences including:

There are six entitlement types that can be granted to applicants to undertake specific activities. Depending on the type of installation work, maintenance or service activity being undertaken a technician may need to hold more than one type of entitlement.

To view licence entitlement types and the handling practices and units of competency, please click here.